top of page

Breaking the Healthcare Barrier: Working at MobileMed to Understand Insurance and the Uninsured

Updated: Apr 22, 2020

Presenter: Tess Baldwin, Cell Biology & Genetics, Global Public Health Scholars

 
 
 

Mobile Med is a non-profit medical care company which provides services to those who are low-income or uninsured. During my time at Mobile Med I worked with the Specialty Referrals Coordinator, Natalie McLeod, who is in charge of connecting patients who have medical needs beyond the scope of the services of Mobile Med with doctors who can provide them with the care they need. While a lot of my work was spent reorganizing their filing system, I was also responsible for calling patients and following up with them about their documents, appointments, and progress of condition. I would use the information that I got from the calls with the patients to then document it in the system. I saw the background of medical care as I was also present for many patients appointments about setting up insurance and had to answer questions about payments.

4 comments
bottom of page