top of page

Build Haiti Foundation: Development Intern

Updated: Apr 22, 2020

Presenter: Jillian Watt, Public Health Science, Global Public Health Scholars

 
 
 

This summer I interned with the Build Haiti Foundation as their development intern. I traveled with the same organization in 2017 on a ten-day service trip which was where I discovered the field of public health. The non-profit focuses on the community of Camp Coq in northern Haiti.  I did most of the work from home but I went to the office every Friday to meet with the board members. The organization focuses on the pillars of environmental sustainability, education, public health, and entrepreneurship. I helped to develop a new website and promotional materials to demonstrate these pillars. I also helped organize a student service-learning program to raise funds to build a well and transport pipes while educating the students on the Sustainable Development Goals. Finally, I worked on grant research to fund future public health projects. 

5 comments
bottom of page