top of page

Combating Food Insecurity at the Howard County Food Bank

Presenter: Archana Swaminathan, Information Science, Global Public Health Scholars

 


 


 

Through my experience volunteering at the Howard County Food Bank (HCFB), not only

did I learn valuable information regarding food insecurity, but I had an insight into the issue as it pertains to my surrounding community back home. Prior to beginning my practicum, I had very minimal knowledge regarding food insecurity and food banks. Moreover, I did not realize its breadth and impact in my county, as Howard County is a fairly affluent area. I started volunteering as a donation sorter but branched out to other areas of the food bank such as meal kit preparation for refugees, shopping assistance for food bank customers, and marketplace preparation. In these various roles, I obtained a great deal of knowledge about the value of food, especially in the time of a pandemic. The HCFB has been experiencing food shortages and minimal supplies due to COVID-19 restrictions. As a result, supplies for members of the community are needing to be rationed, putting additional strain on the food bank and the people it serves. Whether or not in the time of a pandemic, food banks are pivotal to the fight against food security. Food banks like the HCFB provide safe, reliable, and nutritious sources of food for low-income families in the community. Thus, this hinders the burden that families encounter when having to provide a source of food for their families. Moving forward, I certainly plan to use my experience and insight to guide my actions. Working at the food bank taught me to be more cognizant of the food I consume, being careful not to waste it. Additionally, it is critical that we try our best to help support food banks if we are able to do so (through donations, volunteering, etc.). I will remember my experience at the HCFB and plan to continue supporting food banks such as this throughout my time as an active citizen.

bottom of page