top of page

Combating Food Insecurity in College Park

Presenter: Eden Adhanom, Public Health Science, Global Public Health Scholars

 
 
 

My practicum project will be surrounding the topic of food insecurity. I intend to use my volunteer experience at the College Park Food Bank for my practicum project. I also plan on reflecting and expanding on that experience through the Alternative Breaks Dialogue Program specifically the program regarding food insecurity. Due to the covid-19 pandemic food insecurity has worsened, the food bank helps provide nutritional food every Saturday to those who need it. As a volunteer I will be assisting in different positions such as a distributor, a runner, a packer, an unloader, a sorter, and traffic control. All of these are very important roles to the food bank in order to operate effectively and successfully to feed the College Park community. The dialogue program will allow me to exchange knowledge, reflect on my experience at the food bank, and hold intentional dialogue on food insecurity.

4 comments
bottom of page