top of page

COVID-19 Testing in Montgomery County, MD

Presenter: Lauren Roling, Cell Biology and Molecular Genetics, Global Public Health Scholars

 
 
 

Over the summer I worked at a lab that was testing covid samples. My role was to enter sample information into the online system as they arrived and deliver them to the lab techs who performed testing. As an accessioner, I really got to see barriers in testing (which populations had more access/ distribution difficulties, etc). For example, testing people in homeless shelters was particularly difficult due to test distribution as well as lack of a personal email or phone number to send results to. Another one of my roles was to notify patients of their test results, and I was able to see how the amount of positive test results was increasing in my time there.

7 comments
bottom of page