top of page

Culturally Competent Health Care for Foreign Elderly Immigrants in Action

Presenter: Erin Park, Psychology, Global Public Health Scholars

 


 

For my practicum project, I volunteered at the MGH Adult Medical Day care Center. MGH Adult Medical Day Care Center is a culturally competent adult medical daycare center with a mostly elderly Korean immigrant population. During my time there, I assisted the staff in caring for the patients, keeping the facility clean, providing health monitoring and medical services, setting up various activities and games, distributing and cleaning after meals, and translating. Through my experience there, I was able to observe first-hand the daily struggles faced by the elderly immigrant population in the US. I was also able to see how culturally competent care can resolve these problems and ease their lives after retirement.

bottom of page