top of page

Determinants of Incident Stroke Cognitive Outcomes and Vascular Effects on Recovery

Presenter: Rayhan Asad, Public Health Science, Global Public Health Scholars

 


 


 

For my practicum project, I worked at the Maryland Stroke Research Center in the

University of Maryland, Baltimore. In collaboration with physicians and research coordinators alike, my work revolved around the DISCOVERY, a clinical study being conducted nationwide on the determinants of incident stroke cognitive outcomes and vascular effects on recovery. There, I was responsible for administering cognitive exams, conducting interviews, research consenting, transmitting neuroimaging data to study host sites, shipping biosamples, data entry, and completing enrollment tasks. I feel as though my experience could be heavily tied to public health in the sense that the findings from this study will be used to develop treatments for and improve the recovery of stroke patients around the world. My work individually also has public health implications of its own, as this experience has taught me a lot about the research process, as well as how to apply findings in the real world. Looking back on this experience, I have come to realize that I truly enjoy research and was able to learn about all of the aspects that are at play, as it is a successful method of improving the quality of care for patients everywhere. Also, my time with DISCOVERY confirmed to me that I would like to pursue a career in medicine, so that I may devote my time and efforts towards causes such as this that will be incredibly rewarding in the end.

bottom of page