top of page

Diminishing the Academic Achievement Gap

Presenter: Mariah James, Public Health Science, Global Public Health Scholars

 
 
 

My practicum project consists of mentoring children from elementary schools in Prince George’s County with the Maryland Mentor Corps program. My mentorship requires me to read with a child twice a week, assess their reading and writing skills, and then support them through activities designed to improve their comprehension, fluency, and vocabulary. By exhibiting the importance of reading and writing, I hope to foster a new outlook on learning as a whole in the children that I work with. Ultimately, I chose this project in an attempt to provide younger students with the assistance that I wish I had access to at their ages. With the right educational foundation, these students will grow to have opportunities for better health outcomes.

4 comments
bottom of page