top of page

Distribution Logistics: COVID-19 Vaccines

Presenter: Grace Hammond, Public Health Science, Global Public Health Scholars

 
 
 

For my practicum project, I worked at CVS Pharmacy as a member of the COVID-19 task force. I had the opportunity to travel to long term care facilities with many other trained pharmacists and pharmacy technicians to vaccinate their residents and employees. My role in this program was to organize the supplies that each clinic leader and their teams would need for the long term care facilities they were visiting. I split my time between working at the depot store site packing the totes with the required materials in the correct quantities and traveling to the clinic sites to help with the check-in process, billing the patient forms, or other administrative help. I packed and organized materials such as vaccine needles and diluent to prepare the vials that were going to be used, gloves, masks, face shields, and the necessary paperwork given to each recipient of the vaccine. It was an awesome experience, and I was really lucky to have had some sort of role in providing people with the COVID-19 vaccine.

10 comments
bottom of page