top of page

Healthy Eating and Exercise Program for Children

Presenter: David Park, Nursing, Global Public Health Scholars

 
 
 

For my practicum, I was an intern at the YMCA Healthy Eating and Exercise Department during winter break. If it was in person, then there would have been a classroom component where I would teach children on the importance of eating healthy and exercise since both are needed to have good health. After the internship moved to a virtual environment, the main challenge was to create material that would be engaging and enjoyable for children between the ages of 6-9. I was tasked in creating a healthy eating and exercise curriculum. I tried to make it easy to understand and hopefully be used once the pandemic is over. Next, I created introductory videos explaining the importance of healthy eating and exercise. I was then tasked with creating a worksheet with activities that children can do at home to understand what they eat and how much they exercise. I also created numerous videos on different exercises to do at home during the pandemic.

10 comments
bottom of page