top of page

Importance of Oral Health

Presenter: Alyssa Bigelman, Dietetics, Global Public Health Scholars

 
 
 

For my practicum project, I interned at a prosthodontist office in Tamarac, Florida. I was lucky enough to have some hands on learning during this experience. Dentistry is used to prevent oral health issues, and also fix them if they arise. It is important for someone to keep up with their oral health as bad oral hygiene can contribute to health problems all over the body. To me, it was interesting how people could afford the treatments at the prosthodontist as most dental insurance coverages are very small and the treatments themselves are quite costly. During the day I would observe dental procedures and was able to be the doctor’s assistant during that time.

1 comment
bottom of page