top of page

Kids Kitchen Inc. Nutrition Education Teacher

Updated: Apr 22, 2020

Presenter: Jenna Tognola, Dietetics, Global Public Health Scholars

 
 
 

For the Global Public Health Scholars Program, my practicum project was with Kids Kitchen Inc., which is a nonprofit organization that partners with schools and delivers nutrition education to engage children in healthy eating habits and teach them cooking skills with practical and simple nutrition messages. It was an internship teaching experience that I started fall of 2019. I was placed in Joann Leleck Elementary School in Silver Spring, Maryland. I was tasked with developing lesson plans, shopping, and executing my plans with demonstration and hands-on cooking lessons. The overarching goal of my practicum project ties into global public health because I am teaching my students how to make healthy recipes to give them skills they can take as they grow up to develop a healthy lifestyle which will have a positive impact on their health outcomes.

4 comments
bottom of page