top of page

Mental Health: Providing Virtual Help with NAMI Maryland

Presenter: Gabriella Michel, Psychology, Global Public Health Scholars

 
 
 

My practicum project was with National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) Maryland. NAMI Maryland is the NAMI state organization in Maryland, which provides outreach, advocacy, resources, events and support for mental health. NAMI delivers several different programs to help those affected by mental illness. During my internship with NAMI Maryland, I worked behind the scenes to aid in various projects within the organization. I worked to research different topics and people and input data into the database. I made follow-up phone calls for projects. I helped to consolidate and organize racial equity assessments for the organization to use. I was involved in several different webinars, including family engagement webinars, a resiliency and mental wellness for first responders webinar, and a depression webinar. I helped to moderate those webinars, and also worked to create online fact sheets containing information provided in the webinars. I was able to get involved in many different areas, worked with incredible people and learned a lot from my time at NAMI Maryland.

6 comments
bottom of page