top of page

One Love Academy

Presenter: Ayka Hailemariam, Public Health Science, Global Public Health Scholars

 
 
 

My practicum project involves many of the concepts that we have discussed in this College Park Scholars program as well as in my Public Health major. I am very excited to combine and put into practice all the things that have learned in my classes and the things I have learned in this very program. For my practicum project I plan on working with an organization called One Love Academy in order to create an intervention for students in grades 6-8 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. One Love Academy is a non profit organization that promotes and supports the education of young children in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. They have three schools ranging from grades kindergarten to 8th grade. The intervention I want to complete regards nutrition. I want to emphasize the importance of healthy, balanced eating along with exercise for grades 6-8. Every Monday, Wednesday, and Sunday for the two months I will be working on research for the intervention, recording videos to be shared with the class, hopefully having zoom meetings with the director of the school, and creating lesson plans, needs assessments, and logic models for my specific intervention.

6 comments
bottom of page