top of page

Rampant Disease Spread in US Animal Shelters

Presenter: Rachel Fishkind, Animal Sciences, Global Public Health Scholars

 
 
 

For my practicum project I volunteered at my local animal shelter. I worked with the health team to clean and sanitize to prevent the spread of disease within the shelter. Every morning I went through the process of scrubbing the litter pans with soap and then bleaching them. We did this in order to prevent the spread of parasites that may be found in the feces of the cats. Another important aspect of volunteering at the shelter was the fear free shelter program that they had in place. We had to go through a workshop to learn how to prevent stress for us and the animals within the shelter. This is extremely important in preventing the spread of disease within the shelter. Although this part doesn't totally relate to public health, I also got to do some fun things like dog walking and cat socializing.

4 comments
bottom of page