top of page

Red Cross: Combatting the Blood Supply Shortage

Presenter: Cheryl Krizmanich, General Biology, Global Public Health Scholars

 


 


 

For my practicum project, I worked as a Blood Donor Ambassador for the American Red

Cross at the blood donation drive in Rockville, Maryland. I chose to volunteer since I wanted to help my own local community and thought that this position would allow me to do that and also the country as a whole. As a Blood Donor Ambassador, I checked in each donor, ensured they were properly educated on the length and process of the type of blood donation they were undergoing and answered any concerns or questions they might have. Post donation, I monitored donors to ensure that they did not experience any adverse health effects, ensured that they ate and drank to replenish their blood sugar levels, and encouraged them to schedule their next donation. My position as a Blood Donor Ambassador connects to public health since there is currently a blood supply shortage due to several contributing factors including the COVID-19 pandemic, shortage of donors and staff, and increased need for blood. This is highly important since blood is especially vital at this time since it is used for cancer treatments and for those in the conflict occurring in Ukraine. My volunteering has helped the efforts to increase the blood supply since I help increase the number of staff and encourage donors to continue to donate blood by having a positive donation experience. My volunteer work has allowed me to develop relationships with reoccurring donors within the Rockville community and help the greater community by ensuring there is an adequate blood supply.

bottom of page