top of page

The Future for Medicine: Improving Drug Development

Presenter: Neena Singh, Public Health Science, Global Public Health Scholars

 


 


 

For my practicum, I was able to do online research for a local biopharmaceutical company, known as Bullfrog AI. I was tasked with a project involving the research of three currently approved siRNA therapeutics: Patisiran (2018), Givosiran (2019), and Lumasiran (2020). I was able to compile and review the literature on the clinical trials for these therapies, and include information on the clinical indication, trial design, clinical endpoints, safety, efficacy, timelines, clinical trial sites, and outcomes for the clinical trials of each phase (1, 2, and 3) for each therapy. I chose this site for my practicum because I previously worked in a research facility and watched researchers in their laboratories where they created drugs and vaccines, but I always wondered what they do outside of the lab. This project has shown me what goes into drug development outside the lab and overall all the work that researchers must do prior to actually creating a therapy. This work is able to connect to public health in a way where it is a part of the process of creating more successful drugs in a faster and cheaper way, which will help treat diseases for people and save lives. The photo provided on my poster is able to show the table of contents of the research document I created with all the information I collected. In this document, I was able to talk about the clinical trials of each phase for each therapy and provide the relevant information necessary. From my experience, I have learned much about the process of drug development and the information needed to create the most effective therapy. Biopharmaceutical companies must know a lot about the clinical trials of a drug before they can shape it into one that can save many lives. This project was also very meaningful to me because I am currently on the pre-med track with a public health science major, and I am hoping for a career where I can save lives and improve the health of others.

bottom of page