top of page

Understanding the Impact of Language Barriers in the Refugee Community

Presenter: Sophia Eclarin, Public Health Science, Global Public Health Scholars

 
 
 

For my practicum project, I volunteered as a conversational English tutor through an organization called Solutions in Hometown Connections. Throughout the week, I would meet with recently resettled refugees and have conversations with them to increase their English-speaking skills. Our conversations would be based on what they were currently learning in their English class (such as work, locations, etc.) , so they could better review the learned content. I was also able to teach them about different aspects of the American culture. Through our sessions, I helped them with job searches as well as reviewing questions that would appear on the U.S citizenship test. Volunteering with Solutions in Hometown Connections has allowed me to build relationships with people and help them transition into a new environment in America, while welcoming them into the community.

1 comment
bottom of page