top of page

Volunteer EMT in College Park

Presenter: JB Cain, Biochemistry, Global Public Health Scholars

 
 
 

My practicum project surrounds my EMT experience at the College Park Volunteer Fire Department dating back to June of 2020 and going until March of 2021. As an emergency medical technician, I assisted in the treatment and transport of patients in the College Park community to local hospitals for medical emergencies. The College Park community consists largely of students, who are the majority of our patients, often requiring medical assistance for alcohol consumption. As an EMT, I rode the ambulance and was prepared to assist any and all patients consenting to be treated and transported to a hospital, if necessary. This affects the public health of the community and is why I chose to use this experience as my practicum for my Global Public Health scholars program.

4 comments
bottom of page