top of page

Volunteering at the Safe Center: Assisting Trafficking Victims in Reclaiming their Lives

Presenter: Delaney Ensor, Biology, Global Public Health Scholars

 
 
 

I volunteered at the University of Maryland SAFE Center for my practicum project. The Safe Center works to assist human trafficking survivors to reclaim and heal their lives in many aspects. They provide support for those experiencing trauma with medical services, legal support, assistance applying for and searching for jobs, and create safety plans for those in unsafe situations. I volunteered in my free time with anything the center needed, which was often research-based help. Examples of my volunteering services included assisting the SAFE Center in finding potential internet services that fit their needs/budget as well as finding a potential contract for a rental laptop program between the SAFE center and their clients. I worked virtually from January of 2021 through March of 2021. The SAFE Center is a very well-rounded approach to assisting trafficking victims in need, so the help I was provided was changing often depending on the needs of a client and the needs of a constantly evolving nonprofit.

4 comments
bottom of page