top of page

Youth Incarceration: MD Office of the Public Defender

Presenter: Amanda Vu, Psychology and Community Health, Global Public Health Scholars

 


 


 

I worked at the Maryland Office of the Public Defender to revise outreach materials and

update their existing Youth Legal presentation, given to local community groups in an effort to raise awareness around juvenile incarceration. Youth incarceration disproportionately affects poor and minority youth. When accessing healthcare resources, they face issues getting culturally competent and quality care. Exposure to violence inside youth facilities, such as rape and interpersonal violence, heightens mental health concerns and increases health disparities, and returning to life after detention is difficult without integration and community support. As an aspiring clinical psychologist, I wanted to gain an inclusive, intersectional, and equitable view on mental health issues and issues facing youth, including incarceration. I learned that there are many organizations that are passionate about and work with incarcerated youth in Anne Arundel County, which I did not expect. However, my work with the MD Office of the Public Defender strengthened my written and oral communication skills as well as my outreach skills when partnering with other organizations.

bottom of page